Achieve the Impossible!

“What?!” I exclaimed to my coach, “I can’t run the two-mile, please put me in the one mile!” My coach replied, “You have endurance and the longer the race the better.”  I thought to myself, how am I going to run eight laps around the track – it’s impossible!  Subconsciously, I knew I ran more than two miles in practice everyday, but running for competition is different!

My stomach was swarming with butterflies as they called the racers to the line.  Bang!  The gun went off, and I started running.  For the first four laps I kept telling myself, “One more lap, you can do it.”  After the fourth lap, I received my second wind and kicked it into high-gear.  I figured I was already half done with the race, so why not finish?

In the end, I placed sixth.  I was thrilled to compete against older students and place in my first high school track meet as an eighth grader!  It didn’t concern me which place I received it was the fact that I finished; what an accomplishment!

What do you want to achieve?  Maybe you want to complete your degree, train for a marathon or write a book?  Whatever your goal, you can do it.  If you put your mind to it, anything is possible!

Submitted by: Kimberly Imdieke | Online Advisor

2 thoughts on “Achieve the Impossible!

  1. Pingback: Pursue Your Passion! | Minnesota Online

  2. Pingback: Kim’s Final Thoughts | Minnesota Online

Leave a Reply

